When Death Happens

I find it hard to believe that around this time last year death happened.

He came in calmly, slowly introducing himself in bits and pieces.

He was the chill caused by the snippy words shared between “friends”.

He was the rage that coursed through lovers yelling over a minor misunderstanding.

He was the force that crushed the internal organs of a son and friend.

He was the glare shared between now nemeses.

At a time of rebirth, he brought decay, yet here I am a year later and everything has come back full circle.

The permanent loss of a childhood friend stings where before its shock numbed.

His said name no longer feels empty but is bursting full of memories.

Old love rises from the ashes of the past and lovers revisit feelings that once were.

Shreds of friendship torn apart are taped back together.

Its old form never truly regenerating, but another more engaging piece springing forward.

A collage of anger, and hurt glued together with forgiveness.

I find it easy to believe that this year life happened.

When did death happen to you?

6 comments
    • Simpli said:

      That is very true. I feel that in order to truly live life you have to have a hope for tomorrow. Being hopeless is extremely draining because you have to force yourself to continue to move on. Hope may seem pointless depending on how bad your circumstances are but its alternative is too bleak.

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes said:

    A ‘collage’ of anger & hurt, & glued together with forgiveness – I liked that. I liked this, I felt the sentiment of it. Cheers,
    btw, this is from VodkaWasMyMuse.wordpress.com – not wordsfallfrommyeyes.wordpress.com – I just don’t know how to use my second blog avatar!

    • Simpli said:

      Thank-you!!! Feed back is always appreciated. I’m happy you got what I was trying to express. 🙂

  2. It’s something isn’t it? My parents died in 2005 and 2008 and the losses knocked me on my ass but I continued to get up everyday. Now it’s 2012 and I miss them but I laugh about them and tell stories and it’s okay. The collage line is a really good one.

    Good post!

    • Simpli said:

      Thanks! 😉

      “I miss them but I laugh about them and tell stories and it’s okay”

      Its things like this that really strike me. When death first occurs it feels as if no matter how many days pass you can’t get over it; you don’t feel like eating, laughing, or even hearing your loved ones name. I think after awhile you realize that it is okay to continue to live and that’s when you can really start to celebrate the life of the person that was lost. Thanks for stopping by.

I know you wanna say something- so just say it! Lol!

